Executive Director Executive Director
You’re here: IPS Home > Staff > Executive Director > Advisory Work
 Advisory Work
 International Publications
 Local (Sri Lankan)
 Latest Essays/Interviews
 News and Photo Gallery

Advisory Work


Board of Directors of government institutions:

  • Board of Investment (1994-1995)
  • Public Enterprise Reform Commission (1995)
  • Human Resources Development Council (1995-1997)
  • Industrialization Commission (1997-1999)
  • Fair Trading Commission (1995-2002)
  • National Development Trust Fund (2004-2005)
  • Industrial Task Force (1995-2000)
  • Joint Apparel Association Forum Joint Study Committee (2002)
  • Small and Medium Enterprise Task Force (2001-2002)
  • India-Sri Lanka Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (ILCEPA) Joint Study Group (2003)
  • Independent South Asian Commission on Poverty Alleviation (ISACPA), Joint Study Committee (2002-2003)

Economic Advisor to the government:

  • Economic Advisor to the Minister of Industries (2002-2004)
  • Official delegation of the Government of Sri Lanka for the ESCAP Annual Sessions, 1999 and 2000, Bangkok, Thailand; the 12th SAARC Summit, Islamabad, Pakistan, 2004; and UNCTAD XI, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2004

Chairperson of government bodies:

  • Chairman of the Indian Ocean Rim Academic Group (IORAG) (2003-2005) and the Sri Lanka team leader of IORAG (1997-2001)
  • Chairman of the SAARC Research Network (1998-2001)
  • Chairman of the SME Task Force (2001-2002)
  • Co-Convener of the ISACPA (2006 -)
  • Chairman of the Working Group on Trade in Services ILCEPA (2005-2006)
  • Chairman of the Working Group on Economic Cooperation ILCEPA (2005-2006)
  • Chairman (Actg.) of the Fair Trading Commission (2000)

Representations in professional organizations:

  • President of the Sri Lanka Economic Association (1999-2003) and Member of the Executive Committee of the Sri Lanka Economic Association (1992-1994)
  • Member of the Executive Council of the Organization of Professional Associations (OPA) (2000-2002)

Board of Directors of private sector organizations:

  • Centre for Private Sector Development (1994-2001)
  • Hambantota Chamber of Commerce and Industry (1999-2004)
  • Sampath Bank (1998 -)
  • Singer Sri Lanka (2006 - )

Head Panel of Judges:

  • “Exporter of the Year Award” of the National Chamber of Exporters of Sri Lanka (1998, 1999, 2001, 2002)
  • “Entrepreneur of the Year Award”, Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka (1996)
  • Evaluation Committee on “Best Corporate Citizen Award” , Ceylon Chamber of Commerce (2003, 2004, and 2005)

Board of Directors in international organizations:

  • Governing Board and the Executive Council of the South Asian Centre for Policy Studies (SACEPS), Nepal (2001 -)
  • Governing Board of the Centre for Regulation and Competition, University of Manchester, UK (2002 -)
  • Governing Board of the Centre for Trade and Development, India (2006-)