The IPS is managed by a Board of Governors which comprise of a Chairman appointed by the President of Sri Lanka, three ex-officio members who consist of the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, the Secretary to the Treasury and Director-General of Department of National Planning, three appointed members, and the Executive Director of the IPS.

Prof. Sirimal Abeyratne
Senior Professor, University of Colombo
Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy,
Governor, Central Bank of Sri Lanka (Ex-Officio)
Governing Board Member
Ms. Chandanie Wijewardena
Secretary, Ministry of Economic Reforms & Public Distribution (Ex-Officio)
Governing Board Member
Mr. S S Mudalige,
Director General, National Planning Department (Ex-Officio)
Governing Board Member
Dr. Sarath Rajapatirana,
Economic Advisor to the President
Governing Board Member
Dr. Roshan Perera
Additional Director, Central Bank of Sri Lanka
Governing Board Member
Mr. Anushka Wijesinha
Advisor, Ministry of Development Strategies and International Trade
Governing Board Member
Dr. Dushni Weerakoon Executive Director


Dr. Saman Kelegama
Chandi Chanmugam

First Executive Director of IPS. An eminent civil servant who retired as the Secretary to the Treasury. Mr. Chanmugam was also an appointed member of the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka
Prof. W D Lakshman

(2010 – 2014)
The 3rd Chairman of the IPS. Emeritus Professor, University of Colombo, and held the position of the Departmental Chair of Economics at the university for over 25 years before retirement as Senior Professor in 2007. He was honoured by the President of Sri Lanka with the ‘Deshamanya’ national honours in 2005.
Prof. Buddhadasa Hewavitharana

(2006- 2010)
Second Chairman of the IPS. Emeritus Professor of Economics, University of
Peradeniya, and Honorary Fellow and Former Senior Vice President of the
Sri Lanka Economic Association.
Dr. Gamani Corea

First Chairman of the IPS. An eminent economist who served as Secretary-General of the UNCTAD from 1974 to 1984. Dr. Corea was conferred the highest national honour "Deshamanya" in 1987 in recognition of his service to the nation.